Sunshine comes to those who feel the rain…

RDx4
2 min read4 days ago
Photo by todd kent on Unsplash

Keep going…it gets better.

I heard or rather seen this quote and it really hit my heart. Recovery isn’t easy, it doesn’t ever leave you. It’s a constant niggling thought. It’s that little subconscious voice that doesn’t stop telling you “Go on just have one go”

I wanted to write this while I’m in the midst of a difficult day. I don’t ever want to portray that recovery is a bed of roses, and life is amazing without the substance you fight not to use every day.

I also have a difficult mental health issue to so , although I fought through my addiction and recovery some time ago. It’s still very hard.

Some days more so than others. The thing with addiction is, it doesn’t take much to talk yourself into using, but so difficult to talk or get yourself out of it..

An argument with a loved one.

Money problems.

A bad hair day!!!

Then comes the hard part: trying to tell yourself and talking yourself out of using.

So I wanted to share a few little things I do that have helped me through some tough days.

*Go for a walk, get out the house.

*Meditate, pray, talk to whatever faith or higher power you believe in.

--

--

RDx4

Writing has been my therapy and continues to be a part of my healing journey. Writing my way to the top.... Have faith