Can you have faith without hope??

RDx4
3 min readJul 9, 2024

--

Photo by Ronak Valobobhai on Unsplash

Or visa versa…

I’ve often sat and questioned this subject.

Actually… Can you have one without the other?.

I don’t believe you can, but that’s just me, you may think otherwise!!.

To me I think of faith as ‘believing’ and hope as ‘knowing’.

To have hope without having faith in what we are hoping for, is it not just a pointless task?

How can that thing we are hoping for come into fruition, without having faith that it will.

Surely, to hope for something without knowing & believing it’s going to happen is a wasted opportunity. Wasted breath, wasted time….

To have faith in our hopes, in life, in each other. Do you have to have faith in a ‘God’? Can you have faith in life? without having or believing in a faith of the religious kind?

Faith is more focused. More determined. You know and believe in faith.

Hope is a more optimistic. It’s more cautious. When we have faith, we know & believe the breakthrough is coming for us. Rather than just hoping it will.

When we hope for something without having faith it will come into existence, is like admitting we don’t know if we are worthy of receiving it.

We are throwing a little but of self doubt into the mix. ‘I hope it’s going to happen but I’m not sure it will’ or ‘I ask God to bring ‘this’ into my life’ knowing we can’t leave our lives in the hands of God and God alone without contributing ourselves.

Surely without faith, we would then lose all hope??? If we lose our hope then what good is faith?

Hope helps us to carry on through difficult times. Hoping things will get better & having faith in our hopes.

It get’s us through the darkness. Hope is like our friend.

We need hope to help us thrive and move forward in the right direction in life. Without hope how can we keep going?

Hope is having something to hope in. Ambition, opportunity, dreams, goals. We have to have those things, we have to have hope or we would lose the will to live.

We would lose hope in a brighter tomorrow. Better time’s are coming. In you and I and God.

First we think it, then we hope for it and then we have faith we can achieve it/receive it.

One without the other, simply doesn’t work. We need both in order to prosper and get to the point of where we need to be in life.

If I pray to God and ask him to help me with something in my life, all be it realistic because asking for something that simply can’t be given or achieved , to then hope for that to be received from God, then often wonder in dismay why we haven’t received that yet!! . As much as we may be hurting or grieving. We can’t base our relationship with God on something that can’t be given or realised for you.

When we have faith we work in every which way so that our hopes are realised, manifested, brought into existence.

In my opinion one without the other, simply doesn’t work.

So what are you’re thoughts?…

I’m curious!!

I hope you subscribe and enjoy my content.

I have faith my journey will help inspire and offer hope to other’s.

Thanks for reading.

R x

--

--

RDx4

Writing has been my therapy and continues to be a part of my healing journey. Writing my way to the top.... Have faith